Employee Spotlight: Ramona Marshall

Ramona MarshallRamona started with Escape in May 2007 on a contract basis to develop and implement Project Management tools and methodologies.She joined the staff as an Escape employee in September 2007. Previously, Ramona worked as a Program Manager for 10 years in the cable and telecommunications industry, managing large and globally dispersed software development projects.

Ramona received her PMP (Project Management Professional) certification in 2001 and subsequently received Advanced Project Management Certification from Stanford University.

What is your favorite part of working for Escape? — The family atmosphere and team spirit. In the past, I've worked for large companies that were very corporate and bureaucratic which made it difficult to get anything accomplished quickly. I love that Escape is the perfect size where we are not too corporate, but we accomplish a great deal and really have our users in mind at all times. As company owners, Bob and Chad are very accessible and give employees the freedom to be experts in their own areas of expertise which is very empowering. I’m also very proud to work for a company that has such a high level of employee retention.

Can you give us a quick play-by-play of your average work day? — Meetings, meetings, meetings. When I’m not in meetings I’m looking forward a few weeks or months evaluating plans to make sure all projects and release milestones are on track. Since my background is project management, I’m a firm believer that if I’m worrying about today, today then I've done something terribly wrong!

What have been some of the highlights of your career? — The relationships that I have built throughout the years. I have worked at a handful of companies and take a lot of pride in having developed and maintained quality friendships with many of my co-workers throughout the years. I could list several accomplishments but none of them would have been possible without the assistance and support of so many of my co-workers along the way.

What are your favorite activities or things to do when not working? — I enjoy all types of sports but running and cycling are my favorite and consume many hours of my weekends. I also spend quality time with my extended family every weekend.

Where are you from originally? — I’m a local girl, born and raised in Northern California. Although we have had many opportunities to relocate over the years, my husband and I feel it’s very important to raise our children near family so we have remained in the area.

If you weren't the COO, what would you be? — A pediatrician, I love kids and the perspective they bring to our lives. Their honesty is so refreshing and uplifting! When you've had a really bad day all you have to do is hang out with a few 8 year olds to bring you back down to earth!

What is your favorite food? — Seafood and Mexican.

What is your ringtone? — I don’t bother with ringtones since I spend so much time in meetings. My ringer is usually turned off.

If you could meet one person, who and why? — My mother’s father. He was an amazing artist and died when my mother was a teenager. Her house is filled with his paintings and she has such wonderful stories about him that it piqued my interest in him when I was a child.

If you could have any superpower, what would it be? — To see into the future so I could predict all happenings and schedule things accordingly!