Employee Spotlight: Patrick Kinsella

Patrick KinsellaPatrick joined Team Escape in May 2013 as a Data Technician, working on customer conversions of data and UI changes in Escape Online, but he quickly moved to the Development Team. Patrick spent the previous 10 years working in various capacities for a National Staffing Agency that provided employee leasing and HR/Payroll outsourcing. An avid outdoorsman, Patrick is a certified open water diver, even using his rescue diver training once. He also rides motorcycles and loves to travel. His wedding was a fun-filled adventure too, with a wedding web site, voting, videos, and a broadcast of the ceremony (performed by Elvis) live on the internet.

What is your favorite part of working for Escape? — Every day, I get to do something I enjoy and find rewarding in an environment that promotes camaraderie. I get to work alongside compassionate, smart, funny, and dedicated individuals. It’s nice to be in a place where the people are the icing on that delicious carrot cake your mother-in-law makes — you know the one. I feel like we’re all on the same team working towards the same goals. And if anyone is down the team is there to lift them up. It’s nice to work in such a supportive environment. I also get the feeling that I’m appreciated and that my work doesn't go unnoticed. And, it doesn't happen once a year, I get that feeling all the time. Whether by ownership, management, and/or my colleagues. It’s just an amazing culture that’s been cultivated.

Can you give us a quick play-by-play of your average work day? — The first thing I do is check my email for new/urgent items, then assess my current workload and prioritize as necessary. I quickly identify what I want to complete for the day, put on my headphones and start tickling my keyboard. More often than not, the focus of my efforts is custom development. My day is usually broken up by some or all of the following: food, restroom, food, meetings, food, water refill, food, stretch break, and food. I really like food.

What have been some of the highlights of your career? — I am lucky in that I was able to travel and work in lots of interesting places, providing me an opportunity to adapt to varying people and environments. I have fond memories of working in the following places: a Beverage Bottling Plant, Alta California Regional Center, California Youth Authority, Department of Motor Vehicles, Department of Consumer Affairs, the Franchise Tax Board, and Hospitals (ER, ICU, OR, Radiology, Acute Care, & Birthing Centers). I owned and operated a 24-unit housing complex, which introduced me to the world of finance and real estate law. I led a team of 3 people that built and supported a technology infrastructure, growing a company from 25+ employees operating in 1 state, to 12,000+ employees operating in all 50 states, Puerto Rico, and Canada.

What are your favorite activities or things to do when not working? — I like to spend time with friends and family, and exercise. I also like doing things that get me attaboys from my wife. My grandpa always said the key to a happy marriage is always getting in the last word, Yes Dear. Technically “Yes Dear” is two words, but you get the idea.

Where are you from originally? — I was born in Pennsylvania and moved at a young age to California and grew up in the Sierra Nevada Foothills. If you’re a sports fan and you’re wondering where my Pennsylvania allegiance lies, it's with Pittsburgh, not Philadelphia.

If you weren't a Developer, what would you be? — I would be a full-time handyman for my wife. The list of projects is endless. If that didn't pan out, I would find working outdoors rewarding, maybe something with the U.S. Forest Service.

What is your favorite food? — My go-to guilty pleasure is nachos...and none of that fake creamy cheese either...real cheddar the kind that hardens if you cook it too long.

What is your ringtone? — I'm not sure. It's usually on silent or so low I can't hear it ring. But I'm pretty sure it's the old school phone sound - a traditional rrrriiiinnnngggg.

If you could meet one person, who and why? — My great grandfather. I would love to hear his stories firsthand — why he came to America, what he loved about being here, and what he missed most about home.

If you could have any superpower, what would it be? — I would want the ability to transport from one place to another. I could save time, live anywhere, and nurture more relationships that are distant. Being able to transport myself to the East Coast to enjoy a meal with family, pop over to Greece for a swim, and be back in time for work on Monday would make for a pretty sweet life expanding existence.