Employee Spotlight: Arin Simonyan

Arin joined Team Escape late in 2009, working as a Finance Customer Care team member, but now she is on the HR/Payroll side. Plus, she has become our subject matter expert on budget! You may have chatted with her during the last budget webinar.

Since early childhood, she had special love for “working with numbers on a computer.” Her background is in economics, business, and education. Arin enjoys baking and cooking Mediterranean food. One of her dreams is to have a road trip from the West to the East on Highway 80.

What is your favorite part of working for Escape? — My LOVE for Escape is a combination of factors. I enjoy my job and the work that I am doing, but it's not only about that. I LOVE the company – Escape Technology gives you opportunities to grow and is very family oriented. I enjoy working with my co-workers, and most importantly, I ENJOY working with EACH and EVERY one of my customers. And that is very important, because on most days I spend more time with my co-workers and customers than with my own children. :-)

Can you give us a quick play-by-play of your average work day? — My co-workers think that I am very patient. Here is the secret – by the time I get to the office, I am done with my daily maximum imaginable dosage for frustration. I have to wake up my three boys, make them take showers, brush their teeth, get dressed weather appropriate, get breakfast, get into the car – and most importantly, don’t forget school belongings or lunch on the counter top or in the car!

When I get into office – I am done with the hardest part of my day and start enjoying it, turning into nice, smiling, happy, understanding, and patient Arin.  In support, you rarely know what you will be doing in the morning – sometimes you get a really high priority issue last night, and you need to resolve first thing. For the rest of the day, it is hard to plan, at any minute you can get a higher priority issue than the one you were working on (or planning to work on).

Email and phone calls from customers drive my day, control my lunch hours, and sometimes, the time I leave work in the evening. The day just flies by!!!

What have been some of the highlights of your career? — My career is divided into two parts – before and after. Before: I started really early in Armenia, working for the governmental agency as an interpreter. Later, after graduating with a Masters in International Business, I worked as a trade consultant, travelling the world with big business companies. That all ended when I got married and moved to the United States.

After: I was a stay-at-home mom for 6 years! And definitely, this changed my passion. I started teaching Economics in community colleges and private colleges part time. I loved teaching, but with the family, I was looking for more stable schedule. And, this is how I came to Escape.

What are your favorite activities or things to do when not working? — Walking, hiking, spending time with family and friends, and watching ice skating and soccer on TV (it's hard to believe, but I keep ice skating performances on my DVR and watch over and over again when I have the remote – trust me, that doesn't happen to often). I also enjoy baking and cooking, but right now I just have “to make food,” which isn't as enjoyable.

Where are you from originally? —I was born and raised in Yerevan, the capital of Armenia, land of the only known port for Noah’s Ark, and a city older than Rome. I am proud of my roots and origin. All of my family is still there, so if you see me disappear every three years for a month – you know where to find me. The Sacramento area has been my home for the last 15 years.

If you weren't a HR/Payroll Support Specialist, what would you be? — Today, most likely I will be teaching as I used to do before I came to Escape. I enjoy teaching! But I have some dreams – when I was young and travelling with other companies as a consultant, I always wanted to work in a company that produced a product. My dream came true, because I work at Escape and we have a great product here. But now my views and dreams are changing – and I am dreaming of having my own small business for busy women like me - an “all in one” salon, where you can go and have your hair done while you are getting a manicure and a pedicure and other fun stuff. And this is all because I don’t have time for any of that right now (When I have time, I should prioritize and choose only one of these. But, who has time for that?)

What is your favorite food? — Is chocolate a food? My favorite food is a piece of Lindt 90% dark chocolate with a cup of dark black coffee (and sometimes, accompanied with chocolate ice cream). I am really easy when it comes to food, I will eat whatever is available, especially, if someone else made it.

What is your ringtone? — I am not sure. My kids are in charge: they change my ringtones, wallpaper, settings, do updates, install apps, take pictures, and use my phone when I am at home. All I care is to have it on mute with no vibration when I am in the office.

If you could meet one person, who and why? — Any of my grand-grand -children, just to make sure my family is OK, and hoping, that my kids have continued the traditions and values that my husband and I are working hard to teach them.

If you could have any superpower, what would it be? — ALL I need is TIME! So, I would like to be able to move instantaneously from place to place. I cannot believe how much time we spend just driving or flying somewhere. With that superpower, I would have the opportunity to stop by to see my parents on my way from work to home - only 6000 miles away.